What is health, what is life?

CHARAK Sutra 1, Shloka 42
Sharira-indriya-satvatma – (the subject matter) body-senses-mind/chitta-soul
Samyoga dhaari Jivitam – Samyoga means coming together in an ideal way, dhaari means to have, jiva means human life.

The subject of ayurveda is to look at all four aspects of the human life and how they come together in an ideal way.

CHARAK ch.30, shloka 26
Prayojanam Chaasya Svasthasya
(healthy one) Svastha (health) Rakshanam (protection)
Goal/function to give protection to the health of the healthy. So the younger we take care of the body, the less likely for disease to occur.
Svastha Rakshanam is to protect health and prolong life

Vikara Prashamanam cha – disease, pacification/normalization, and – So the pacification of disease. Palliative approach of disease management.
So do the maintenance and prevention first and then palliative approach.
Vikara Prashamanam is to eliminate diseases and dysfunctions of the body

Four Kinds of Measures of Ayush
Sushruta Samhita, Charaka Samhita, Ahitam Sutrasthana
CS – Chapter 1/ Shloka 41
Hitahitam (hita-ahitam/wholesome and non-wholesome) Sukham Dukham (pleasure/joy and pain/suffering)
Ayurveda is that which elaborates the wholesome and unwholesome nature of life (refers to you as a social organism at a community level – the thief is leading an unhealthy life for the culture even if he has low cholesterol etc. Similarly people that are leading a wholesome life like an Acharya who is giving all the knowledge of life.) If the guru wanted to he could have kept the knowledge, but instead gives to society. If you don’t give to society, unhealthy life and leads eventually to Dukha. Community level, social self esp. in immediate community. Mother who beats child and is angry but does abhyanga, may have some personal sukha but long term is imbalanced. Your social self is more important to longterm health than individual happiness. This is why it comes first in the grantha. So come to balance in community, come to balance in self. Ayurveda also elaborates the joyful and suffering of life. One can have sukha and dukha at individual level.

Factors and measurement of

SS Chapter 15, Shloka 41
Samadosha Samagnishch Samadhatu Malakriya (process of Mala) – if dosha is balanced, agni is balanced, if agni is balanced, dhatu is balanced, if dhatu is balanced, mala is balanced. The order of the shloka is very important. Therefore, dosha heads it all.

Prasannatmendryiamanaha Swastha itiabhidyiyate –
Physical, mental emotional and spiritual health.
Already we have established that the human being has atman (soul), manas (mind), indriya (senses), and sharira (body) {samadosha (balanced dosha, samadhatu (balanced tissues), mala (balanced actions of excretions)} and prasanna is happening at physical health. This is the most complete definition of health the world has ever seen.
Modern medicine says health is merely absence of disease. It is absolutely mechanical, how can there be any spirit in a mechanical model? Prasanna – exalted/good state of soul mind and senses.

One of the root causes of diseases is excessive, wrong or insufficient use of the indriyas (senses). (to make a judgement and action that is opposite to ones good knowledge or to do something that one knows is wrong is to damage the mind of the individual) The taste is one sense, but the sight, hearing, touch, etc. are all in constant use as well. We have a lot of balancing of Indriya to bring good health. Specially in a society that takes its understanding of life to be about pleasure and excessive sensory input continues to grow. Pratyahara for calming of senses (withdrawal of senses) – pull your senses back for calmness – don’t enter into tv, pull back and observe. The world will be the world samsara is samsara, but we are responsible for our reactions and pulling back our senses in the way that we can will help. In a loud crowded area, can pull back our eyes. When we start growing immediately we do enter into a state of judgement, we can observe the god in others and help to withstand the pressures of the other. The rest of the world may be irrational, but we can establish pratyahara by establishing whatever we can in the way of sensory withdrawal.

Ashtanga Hrydaya
Dhi – intelligence and discrimination (the ability to discern differences, this is highly looked down upon in the Western spiritual as it is thought to be judgemental and that is a “fashion faux pas”.
Dhairya – courage (to believe in our beliefs despite being challenged.

As hard as it is in this day of technical social media, don’t engage in ignorance of others. Maybe others are attacking or dismissing you but you need courage to continue without approval of others. We may lose ourselves but we will find ourselves with courage.

Atma vijnana – learning and knowledge of self – more important than any other knowledge. Meditation. Deep knowledge of your own self. We are all on the path of knowledge of self. The longer we stay on our path the more we can continue despite other people’s judgement etc.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: