Q. What does it take to be a yoga teacher?

A. Anywhere between $3000 to $5000 and 8 weekends or what amounts to 200 hours of training.

No experience necessary.

No knowledge necessary.

No morals or ethics needed as well.

In fact, I believe that even the kid that delivers newspapers has a better background check done on him before he is hired.

It is the only job I know that is like this in fact. And for some reason it is really cool to be one?

Then you can pay another chunk of change and be registered. With what? Registered with an association that does absolutely nothing but collect money. In fact, when questioned by me about what they were going to do with the actions of John Friend, i got a reply that there was no action that they were going to take.

What do you learn in 200 hours? What can you learn in 200 hours? This then leaves the new teacher out to teach what ever they remember from the training, which I gotta say is nothing really, and then of course when they take their favorite yoga teachers class they can copy what that yoga teacher does. Hmmmmmm.

There are also 500 hour trainings available but I question what does it make to be a teacher and also why is there no life lived on the path before being able to be a teacher of yoga? I would expect yoga to bring integrity in the lives of the teachers.

I write this only because once again, I grimaced, puked a bit in my mouth and turned away in the usual way when you put something really bitter in your mouth or bite your lip hard and it bleeds.

A yoga teacher that I know who attended one of my Ayurveda and cooking classes just a couple years ago has a new studio, he moved. Back when he took my class, he was already teaching teacher trainings, certifying teachers. He is a nice guy, all buffed out. After a couple hours of my class it became obvious to me he did not know anything about Ayurveda. Soon  it became obvious he knew nothing of yoga either. Later i had a really great chat with him one on one where I asked him if he had ever read The Bhagavad Gita. He had never heard of it. I then asked him if he had read the Yoga Sutras? He responded with, “that is that book about the way to be in yoga right?” and then he said he had never read it.

Hmmmmmmmm?

What are you teaching?

He went on to finally admit to me that he teaches asana. So I asked him if he understood asana? He replied that he didn’t understand the question so I explained to him that the health of the physiology of the body is based upon prana and that the asanas all have their functions on what they do to the prana in the body. I basically explained it all very quickly to him about the breathe and whatnot. He then looked at me and admitted he was not teaching asana either.

Today his studio is of course still doing teacher trainings and he is a Lululemon Ambassador.

The listing for his training went like this…

“Sadhana, in the Sanskrit language means to be on the path . . . are you ready to embark on a deeper journey on your yoga path? ___________ programs offer an opportunity to immerse yourself in the ancient history of yoga, learn the Sanskrit language and the philosophy of yoga. The programs are designed to build a strong foundation to deepen your knowledge of yoga and take your teaching skills to the next level. With a balance of sthira (steadiness) and sukham (ease), the ___________________ curriculum creates an opportunity to deepen not just the asana, the physical practice of yoga, but also the spiritual practice. Using the Yoga Sutras as a guide, you will explore the meaning of truly being on the path. Just as there is a balance between yin and yang, _____________________ creates a balanced curriculum rich in history, philosophy as well as the art of teaching and truly finding your voice as a teacher.  Wait no longer, there is no time like the present to dig your roots deep.”

 

When I asked him where he had studied the Sutras he said, “with my wife”, they have been reading together. So sweet. And this is the authority that allows him to go out and teach the sutras while he doesn’t follow them at all and obviously cannot teach from a place of knowing them.

 

Mark one more up for the modern world of yoga!!!!

 

I truly wonder if I am the only person out there that sees this everyday.

 

Leave a Reply

